Print

Castle Hill Memorial to Albert, the Prince Consort

Categories Historical Interest | Holiday Information

Castle Hill houses the Welsh National Memorial to Albert, the Prince Consort, husband of Queen Victoria which was built in 1865 with the support of Joseph White, Mayor of Tenby, along with the Philipps family of Picton Castle.

Tenby Castle is sadly no longer stnding but Tenby Museum and Art Gallery has been housed in part of it since 1878 - well worth a visit to discover the history of Tenby.

Castle Hill also houses the old coastguard house, now a private dwelling and the relatively new Tenby bandstand erected in the last decade.